Blogmas Days 12-13: Cuisine Chicago

IMG_3828Food frustrates me. They can be so delicious that I can’t help to stuff myself, then they can be so delicious that my tummy pops out and abs gone. Oh well, who cares. (not really)

During my last two days in Chicago, I had the honor to visit two amazing restaurants, obviously not the most expensive ones in town like Alinea, but they were impressed me.

As I wait to board my 8am flight to NYC, I figured I’ll do a little review on the restaurants I’ve been to the past two days. Not a “Complete Guide to Chicago’s Best Eats” but at least you have these as options the next time you visit Chi-town!

NoMi (at Park Hyatt Chicago)

I was on the hunt for a place to dine with my girl friend who works here in Chicago and under the recommendation of my other friend, we decided on NoMi.

The kitchen is a country where there are always discoveries to be made. – Grimod De La Reyniere

NoMi Kitchen – a relaxed open kitchen restaurant with a chic, contemporary atmosphere and stunning panoramic views of downtown Chicago, Historic Water Tower Square and Lake Michigan.

Upon entering the restaurant, you first encounter the bar/lounge area where crowds of people have already started drinking at 7:30pm on a Friday night. Chatters and laughters, there’s no better place to meet your friends for a joyful reunion after 5 days being stuck in that tiny chair of yours at the office, not that you’re complaining having a job. Who doesn’t need a drink (or 2, or 3…) by the end of the week? TGIF.

I was slightly concerned that we had to dine amongst this chitchat carnival, but thank god – it was another scene when you turn around the corner. The hubbub of laughter and conversations was moderate, the view was impeccable (even better if we were seated by the window) and the service was on point.

Following the introduction of the menu by the waiter, we were served these aromatic, still hot out of the oven buns with, I believe, a soft fluffy light rosemary/garlic spread. The bread was so good and warming, the spread was not too strong nor greasy. I think we were already half full by the time we managed to indulge all the buns.

For starters, we ordered the Beef Tartare.

(Sorry, forgot to take a picture)

Crispy onion, poached quail egg, béarnaise aïoli

The portion was surprisingly small, but the tartare was pretty delectable. Tender cubes of steak with the crispy onion delivered the perfect contrast in texture. The béarnaise aïoli (typical choice of sauce for steak) was, allow me to use some Nigella language, succulent.

It’s not easy to make the perfect beef tartare, and I think NoMi did the pretty good job. However, maybe it’s just me, but I did think that the tang of the tartare could be a bit stronger.

We then both decided on Stuffed Poussin as our entreés

IMG_3861

Foie gras, spaghetti squash, almond cherry gastrique

The moment the waiter placed the food before us, my eyes just widened from the amazing aroma the dish gave off. It smelled so incredibly good!

On first bite, the chicken was not as tender as I expected it to be, but it wasn’t completely rough. I definitely would’ve preferred it to be more tender. My excitement mainly came from the foie gras – however, I was quite disappointed to not have been able to taste it in the stuffing. In general, I wasn’t a huge fan of the stuffing. Despite the slight disappointment, I must say that the sauce was delish. Every bite of chicken I had, I made sure I took on as much sauce as I could.

The sauce definitely complimented the dish and made it overall a not-bad entreé, but I would recommend trying something else on the menu (tagliatelle, market fish, turbot, rack of lamb, or wagyu ribeye), unless you only eat chicken.

By the end of the main course we were both already stuffed – but what is dinner without dessert? Hence, we decided to share a Pumpkin Blondie.

IMG_3864

Speculoos swirl ice cream, whipped pumpkin cremeux, spiced brown butter

I THINK I FOUND MY LONG LOST LOVE. This dessert is sooooooo good. If you are a pumpkin fan like yours truly, this dessert is your new boyfriend.

It’s not too sweet, yet not bland. The warmness of the pumpkin cremeux and the brown butter melted my heart. The ice cream had little chucks of pumpkin goodness so that it’s not as cold and harsh as it ought to be anymore. This is legit foodgasm.

This dessert is just SO GOOD you HAVE to try it if you visit NoMi. Seriously. I would go there just for this dessert.

I think I’ve made my point.

Fig and Olive

FIG & OLIVE’s elegant and warm design with limestone stucco walls, terra-cotta ceiling, and green rosemary and olive trees exudes the essence of the Mediterranean. Upon entering, guests are welcomed by an impressive display of extra virgin olive oils. A long, white marble communal table and tasting bar – ideal for informal gatherings – stretches across the room, lit by pendant lights and backed by displays of wines. The main dining room is elegant and intimate with olive branches crafted in black wrought iron and lit with candles. An open kitchen is illuminated by shelves of glowing olive oil bottles.

Waking up at 10am on a Saturday morning, WWBD? (What would Blair do?)
Brunch, of course. With Serena.
(Quoting Gossip Girl seems a bit tacky, but hey, I literally JUST finished the show on Netflix)

It was down to Waldorf Astoria (why are you even surprised?) or Fig and Olive. Since I was craving waffles (as like every other day), we went for Fig and Olive.

This place is beau-ti-ful. It’s basically me in a restaurant. Total inspiration for my imaginative café/restaurant 10-20 years down the road.

I ordered a Fig and Olive waffle (with berries, pearl sugar and vanilla whipped cream) with scrambled eggs on the side. The portion was slightly large, but not absurd.

IMG_3866

I didn’t care much for the scramble eggs (since I like mine slightly undercooked, no big deal though), but the salad (especially the dressing) was heaven sent. I don’t think I’ve ever had a salad this good. Next time I’m at Fig and Olive, I’m definitely ordering a full salad!

Waffles. Oh, waffles. Fig and Olive has one of the best waffles I’ve ever had. They had a sweet taste to the touch of the tongue but not overly sweet. (I hate bland waffles) Together with the pearl sugar, berries (I can literally live on eating berries for the rest of my life) and vanilla whipped cream, I was in wonderland.

The brunch experience at Fig and Olive was amazing. Great vibe, great decor, great food, great service – I cannot ask for more. This place is a must go.

Navy Pier

Before I end my post, here’s a little visual excursion of Navy Pier. It was a bit depressing going alone, best if I had company, but nevertheless, the view was to die for. Looking ahead you have the lighted up ferris wheel and looking back, you see the captivating skyline of night time Chicago and its urban lights.

IMG_3816 IMG_3821 IMG_3822 IMG_3845 IMG_3853 Hope you enjoyed the post with scenary and food.

Next stop, New York City.

Until next post!

Love,
Euzane x

Leave a comment